I bounced into the office today full of energy, or ‘prana’ as Usha (the yoga teacher I spent the weekend with) would say. As the team here are more used to seeing me clutching a Pret filter for all my life as I arrive, this new Tigger approach to the day is something of a surprise.

My secret? I went on a retreat to La Foret in Gasgony this weekend with six girlfriends. It was heaven. Amazing organic food (and wine), lots of  yoga in front of a roaring fire in the evening and under the autumn sun in the morning.

The owner of this haven, Jane, has used vintage linen to upholster the chairs and bedheads, and, while I can’t find space to buy into the Louis-style sofas, I was reminded of the Decorating with Linen shoot we did earlier this year. I’m planning on buying some linen napkins to remind me of the fabulous meals we enjoyed after a day of downward dog.

Carmel Allen, acting editor

