Livingetc has long been a fan of Michelle Mason’s bright and bold interiors products, especially her Stella rug. But she is  designer of many talents, as you will see by clicking through to her site. Here, she takes five minutes to tell us about her life and work. See you at Pulse tomorrow, Michelle.

Tell us about your studio. A small but light space in a converted Victorian bank. It’s very peaceful even though it’s on a main road. There are lots of other creatives in the building and it’s in lovely part of London, just 15 minutes walk into Covent Garden. I’ve been there a year after decamping from my kitchen table at home.

And, is there such a thing as your average working day? Not really – there’s always something different on the go and this last couple of months have been spent working on special commissions.

Who or what inspired you to become a designer? I was always drawing and making things as a little girl. When I was about eight I made a single-storey dolls house complete with furniture. At secondary school I had a brilliant art teacher and she really encouraged me to apply for a design degree.

How do you get from idea in your head to finished piece? Lots of experiments on paper to get the look and feel just right. Sometimes it takes a while to get it right and at other times it can just click straight into place. I draw the final designs in Photoshop or Illustrator and send digital files to the manufacturers.

What are you most proud of? When we get emails from customers saying how much they like the product or the quality.

How far ahead does your masterplan stretch? As far as I’m still able to come up with the ideas and keep people interested. And one day I’d love to open up a store or gallery.

What do you hope to get out of Pulse this year? Making new contacts and experiencing the challenge of a larger stand than last year.

Other than designing, what makes you happy? I’m easily pleased but a drink with friends, a film night, good coffee and food, family time and a good night’s sleep – all work their magic.

How would you spend your perfect weekend? A stroll down my local farmers’ market, near London Fields, then to the park with my daughter, and on the Sunday I’d catch up with friends for a lazy lunch or picnic.

Tell us a secret. I once broke my hand after landing a large illustration commission and taught myself to use my other (left) hand. When I met up with the client, to deliver the artwork, the cast had come off and they were non the wiser.

